Stirling

Overview

Stirling Council appointed a dedicated part-time co-ordinator to manage the Bookbug programme in February 2010. The co-ordinator’s role is job-shared by staff from the Young People’s Section of the Library Service.

The co-ordinator liaises with Education who provide the administration time to run the logistics of the programme and work in partnership with Health Visitors and Early Years staff who hand out the free Bookbug Baby and Toddler Packs and Bookbug Pirate Packs.

We are enthusiastic about offering Bookbug Sessions within our library service and actively promote Bookbug’s Library Challenge throughout the Stirling area.

 

Bookbug Pack Gifting

The Bookbug Baby Pack is gifted to parents by health visitors.

The Bookbug Toddler Pack is gifted to parents by health visitors.

The Bookbug Pirate Pack is gifted to three year olds in their early years setting.

If you have not received your Bookbug pack please ask at your local library.

 

Bookbug’s Library Challenge

Bookbug’s Library Challenge runs in every Stirling Council Library and Mobile Library (except Raploch Express). Parents and carers are encouraged to register their babies and toddlers as members of their local library. Each child aged from birth to 4 years old receives a collector’s card, this is stamped every time a book is borrowed. A beautiful certificate is issued when the card is full after four stamps. With five certificates to collect it is an incentive for children to become frequent visitors to their local library.

 

Bookbug Sessions

Bookbug Sessions are currently held in eleven of our libraries.  These fun, free sessions offer parents and carers the opportunity to share rhymes, songs and stories with their babies and toddlers.

The Bookbug Sessions are run in the following libraries:

Library Telephone Number Email address
Balfron 01360 440407 balfronlibrary@stirling.gov.uk
Bannockburn Library 01786 833680 bannockburnlibrary@stirling.gov.uk
Bridge of Allan Library 01786 833680 bridgeofallanlibrary@stirling.gov.uk
Cambusbarron Library 01786 473873 cambusbarronlibrary@stirling.gov.uk
Callander Library 01877 331544

callanderlibrary@stirling.gov.uk

Central Library 01786 432107 centrallibrary@stirling.gov.uk
Doune Library 01786 841732 dounelibrary@stirling.gov.uk
Drymen Library
01360 660 751

01360 660751

drymenlibrary@stirling.gov.uk
Dunblane Library 01786 823125 dunblanelibrary@stirling.gov.uk
Fallin Library 01786 812492 fallinlibrary@stirling.gov.uk
Plean Library 01786 816319 pleanlibrary@stirling.gov.uk
St Ninians Library 01786 472069 stninianslibrary@stirling.gov.uk
Strathblane Library 01360 770737 strathblanelibrary@stirling.gov.uk

Bookbug Sessions run during term time only apart from Cambusbarron Library.

For times and dates of Bookbug sessions please see the Stirling Council's events page.

 

 

Accessibility

For accessibility information, please contact your local Bookbug Coordinator or see your local authority website.

 

Bookbug Co-ordinator

Stirling Bookbug team

 

Margaret Rennie- Senior Library Assistant

Email: renniem@stirling.gov.uk   

Telephone: 01786 237 544

Vivien Gillies- Senior Library Assistant

Email: gilliesv@stirling.gov.uk    

Telephone: 01786 237 544


For more information about Bookbug in Stirling visit www.stirling.gov.uk/libraries