Shadowsmith

By Ross MacKenzie

Synopsis

'Are you brave?' When the mysterious Amelia Pigeon turns up at Kirby's bedroom window in the dead of night, this is the question she asks him -- right before they tumble into a world of ancient malevolent spirits who have torn their way into Kirby's quiet seaside village. Kirby isn't feeling brave at all. His mother is in a coma following a freak (or was it?) accident, and he's hardly talking to his dad. He's convinced a spider is spying on him, and now a weird girl in a yellow raincoat -- who claims to be a powerful, evil-banishing Shadowsmith -- is dragging him into unknown danger. How brave is he really?

Year of Publication

Review

'Spooky and deliciously dark in places, this is a fabulously gripping story about the power of love, friendship and overcoming scary situations.' --MinervaReads 'This is another brilliant page-turner from Blue Peter Book Award winner, Ross MacKenzie. It twists and turns between darkness and light, and is full of suspense, mystery and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Cliff McNish and JK Rowling.' -- BookTrust

Author Biography

Ross MacKenzie is the author of The Nowhere Emporium, winner of the Blue Peter Award and the Scottish Children's Book Award. He lives in Renfrew, where he grew up, with his wife and two daughters, but spends much of his time in another world.