New Writers Awards 2016

We've now announced the winners of our 2016 New Writers Awards. Click here to learn more about them and join our mailing list to hear about future deadlines.  


New Writing
New Writing eBook

You can now download the eBook of New Writing in ePub and .mobi formats. The book contains work from all of the 2015 awardees.

Scottish Book Trust has created the eBook to showcase the work of our fantastic new writers and their inimitable talents - and we hope you enjoy it as much as we do! We're thrilled to be able to support new writers in Scotland and to feature their work in this year's eBook. 



The New Writers Awards are a fantastic opportunity for individuals committed to developing their writing.

Awardees receive a £2,000 cash award, allowing them to focus on their work, as well as a tailored professional development package which can include mentoring from writers and industry professionals, training in PR, performance and presentation training, and the opportunity to showcase work to publishers and agents. The awards also include a week-long retreat at Cove Park. The retreat provides time, space and the freedom to create new work in idyllic surroundings.

Find out more about the 2016 Awardees and the history of the awards.

Writers over the age of 18 can apply for one category, provided they meet the eligibility criteria. There is no upper age limit to apply. 

The awards are divided into three different categories. Click on a category for further information:


The Callan Gordon Award

The Callan Gordon Award provides an additional space on the programme for a short story writer or poet between the ages of 18 and 35. Click here to learn more about the award.

How to apply

  • Please read our eligibility criteria carefully.
  • Choose the category above which best represents your work. Please note that we cannot tell you which category to apply for.
  • Follow the application instructions on the category page.

Applications for the New Writers Awards 2016 are now closed. Applications received will not be considered.

If you have any queries about the New Writers Awards, please read our Frequently Asked Questions or email


Here's what previous awardees had to say about their experiences on the programme:


Malachy Tallack
‘Receiving a New Writers Award was a hugely important step towards the completion of my first book, Sixty Degrees North. It gave me the confidence to continue, and allowed me the time to get it done. The support of Scottish Book Trust has been invaluable, and I can't recommend them or this award highly enough. Don't hesitate, just apply!’

Malachy Tallack, author of Sixty Degrees North






Martin MacInnes
'The award made me work harder – I knew I was lucky, and so I was determined to make it the most productive year I'd had. It's an amazing opportunity. There is exposure in it, validation, trust, expert training. You are treated as a professional, given all the support you could need, both creatively and practically. Through Scottish Book Trust I read at two festivals and turned a sprawling, impossibly ambitious project into a finished novel. It can be a significant turning point, as it's the perfect setting to push on. I'm so grateful for this help.'

Martin MacInnes, winner of the Manchester Prize for Fiction 2014 




Lucy Ribchester
'A New Writers Award is so much more than a badge to put on your writing CV. The best thing about the whole experience has been becoming part of a community of writers and booklovers who encourage each other in an unstable and sometimes nerve-wracking industry. The support you receive from Scottish Book Trust - partnering you up with inspiring mentors, championing your work at festivals, being a friendly ear when you need a career chat - goes way beyond the initial award year. And on top of that you get £2,000 and a week at Cove Park – what good reason is there not to apply?'

Lucy Ribchester, author of The Hourglass Factory


Image credit: Tang Yao Hoong