New Writers Awards 2019 Category: Fiction and Narrative Non-fiction in English and Scots

There are five awards for the Fiction and Narrative Non-fiction category

Fiction is imaginary or invented prose, which can include short stories and novels.

Narrative non-fiction is a form of writing that is stylistically similar to fiction but used to tell factual stories e.g. memoir, travel writing and biography. This does not include text books, guide books, standard non-fiction history books or collections of humour/jokes. 

You can submit writing in both Scots and English in this category, as well as submissions that use a combination of both languages. 

Please click here to read the eligibility criteria carefully.

Everything you need for your application:

You will apply via Submittable (after completing our Equalities and Diversity form) and we strongly suggest writing out your answers on a separate document to save and redraft as needed.  

  • Your personal details.
  • A list of your writing achievements to date. (Word limit: 500 words.)
  • A personal statement telling us how a New Writers Award would benefit your      development as a writer. (Word limit: 500 words.)
  • A sample of your writing, such as a short story, several stories or an extract from a longer piece of work. (Word limit: 3,500 words.)
  • If your sample is an extract from a longer work, we also need a synopsis. (Word limit: 500 words.)

Apply now:


Scottish Book Trust is committed to promoting equality and diversity. To help us monitor how well we’re doing, you will be asked to fill in a short Equalities and Diversity survey before completing your New Writers Award application form. Your answers will be completely confidential, will be stored anonymously and securely and will not be accessible by the judges. 

When you click on the link below, you'll be taken to the form on SurveryMonkey. Once you've answered the questions, you'll be taken to Submittable to start filling in your application. Please be sure to bookmark the page or save a draft of your progress.

Fill in the form and apply now

Please only fill in the form once - if you have any problems, let us know on

Application deadline 4 July, 2018

Any Questions?

If you have any queries about the New Writers Awards, please read our Frequently Asked Questions or email

Judging panel